Review: Pacifica Magic Carpet Ride Gift Set – Body Butter Trio (I don’t know where it’s taking me, but it’s surely NOT where I want to be!)

Pacifica Magic Carpet Ride

I’ve read about a lot of good things about Pacifica. The company claims that all their products are made in the USA (which is probably very rare nowadays), that they are 100% vegan, and made with cruelty-free ingredients. The range is also free of parabens, phthalates, mineral oil and petrolatum (taken from the Pacifica website). From the looks of it Pacifica makes fantastic-smelling products with a lot of good intention. I was very excited to find out about their Magic Carpet Ride set right before setting off to the U.S. The set features 3 full-sized body butter (8 o.z/236ml) in Island Vanilla, Indian Coconut Nectar, and Tuscan Blood Orange for a mere 28 dollars (54 dollars value). I love nice-smelling everything (particularly warm scents like vanilla and coconut for the colder seasons), I highly identify with the corporate philosophy, and everybody loves a good buy, right? The second I made it to Sephora I grabbed the set on display (I was told it was the last set they had in stock. Usually that’s a good spur in decision-making) and continued to shop around with the heavy box in my shopping bag. When I located the Pacifica products in the store, I thought maybe I’d like to sniff the trio just to make sure, and I liked the way all of them smelled. It was when I tried a bit of each on my hand/arm that things started going horribly wrong…

You see, all three of them dried down and mixed with my body chemistry in the worst possible way. While Island Vanilla and Tuscan Blood Orange became downright unpleasant on me, Indian Coconut Nectar was plain nauseating. It smelled like baby vomit, milky and sour with a slight sweetness in it. If ONE of the three was wrong, I might still have grabbed the set and gifted the third to a friend. When ALL three of them failed however, I could only sigh and put the set back. I kept sniffing myself for half an hour afterwards, just to see if anything would change, but sadly nothing did. When I had access to water and soap, I washed the lotion off as fast as I could.

Bottom line? I still think it’s great value for money, and the corporate philosophy is right up my alley. However, before you make your purchase, PLEASE try the lotion on just to make sure you won’t end up feeling sick when you put it on. But seriously, not so much scent and absolutely no lotion has gone SO horribly wrong on me in my lifetime…

Leave a Reply

