Review: Clinique Take the Day Off

Since I’ve only started wearing eye makeup more often since last year, I used to stick to basic drugstore makeup remover (like L’Oreal and Maybelline). It’s not that they fail to do their job, it’s just that it takes excruciatingly long and I always lost patience and started rubbing. I thought I’d give this a go because Jen from From Head to Toe recommends it, and I’m really happy with it! I must have used up 2 bottles in a year, though a good amount of that second bottle was gone due to my bad packing.

Take the Day off removes eyeshadow in literally one second. Even my coats and coats of mascara and gel eyeliner come off relatively easily. A little goes a long way, and NO rubbing is involved. The formula is gentle, and I personally do not react badly to it at all. It’s true that it leaves eyelids a bit oily, but since it’s bi-phase and targets waterproof makeup, I wouldn’t imagine it to be otherwise. I always wash my face afterwards though. I don’t use any soap on my eyelids, but by the time I’m done washing my face and patting it dry, the oily feeling is also gone. In short, it doesn’t bother me.

I have repurchased it a couple of times since my first bottle, and I would definitely recommend it. However, in the meantime, I have also noticed some pharmaceutical brands offer eye makeup removers and I might look into that. If I can find one that works for waterproof makeup (I only use waterproof mascara), I might give it a try. If it turns out to be a dud though, I’m always willing to go back to Clinique!

Leave a Reply

