Review: Philosophy the Gingerbread Man. Oh gingerbread man, where art thou?

Scrubbing is a part of my skincare routine. I scrub my face once to twice a week, and body once every week or two weeks. I was running out of scrub around the time I left for the US, and I had heard so much about Philosophy that I wanted to give the gingerbread man a try. 25 dollars might seem pricey, but you do get a big tub of product so it doesn’t seem like a bad deal.

I can tell you straight off that the gingerbread man does not smell like gingerbread. While gingerbread reminds me of cinnamon, vanilla, and all those warm scents, Gingerbread Man smells closer to fresh ginger with a hint of citrus (to me it smells lemony). I personally adore it because I love everything ginger. It’s a pretty energizing/invigorating smell that’s perfect for a morning shower, but it definitely doesn’t smell like gingerbread man!

The texture of the product is not runny or gloopy at all. It’s pretty densely-packed and solid if it makes sense. Even when I dig it out of the tub, it keeps its shape in my hand. Now comes the tricky part: the instructions tell you to use it on dry skin. I tried a bit on the back of my hand and quickly realized it’s not a good idea: the texture felt way too harsh against my skin. So instead, I decided to take it into the shower with me and use it when my skin was wet, the way I normally go about scrubbing. This time things got better. The granules didn’t feel nearly as harsh, and it was a lot easier to massage it onto my skin compared to when it was dry. The scrub does warm up a little, and though I don’t know exactly what it was supposed to do, it was rather pleasant. The salt dissolved fast enough though, so you’d better work fast! I usually take some and work on a body part before targeting the next, and that worked out just fine.

The result? Silky smooth skin! The skin on my body is on the dry side during the colder months, and I clearly felt the need to put some lotion on when I was done. However, compared with products that would make my skin very tight, this wasn’t bad at all. I also like the fact that it’s not oily like some other salt-based scrubs I’ve tried, because cleaning the shower afterwards would be a major nightmare afterwards!

Bottom line: It’s highly possibly the best scrub I’ve tried, and I’d definitely repurchase if I had the chance! Besides the fact that the gingerbread man is missing, it’s an excellent scrub!

By the way, Philosophy is having their Friends & Family sale till the 12th of December. It’s 30% off everything, so go get yourself some gingerbread man now!

Talking about gingerbread man: my favorite cafe recently launched their Christmas specials. I was tempted from the minute I saw them, but decided to hold back because it’s an overkill! It was pretty cold today though, and I walked around a lot before getting there, so I thought, what the heck? I went ahead and ordered myself a gingerbread latte. All the Christmas specials come with a gingerbread man, and look how cute it is! It’s a calorie bomb, but hey, Christmas comes only once a year, right?

Leave a Reply

