Swatch, Review, and Comparisons: MAC All That Glitters (Veluxe Pearl) Eyeshadow

It’s true that all that glitters is not gold, because MAC All That Glitters is more like a shimmery pinky beige on me. I put this on my MUA swap wish list because Karen from Makeupandbeautyblog.com raved about it, and when the opportunity came along it became mine.

Like the other veluxe pearl eyeshadows I own, the texture and pigmentation of All That Glitters are top-notch. I don’t consider myself a crazy fan/collector of MAC eyeshadows (or MAC anything to be very honest), and I’ve had more disappointing than positive experience from playing around in the MAC store. However, All That Glitters does not disappoint. The texture is soft, it applies like butter on my lid, and the pigmentation is generous. I don’t think I can do this better than Karen, so if you’re interested in this eyeshadow you should check her post about all the eyeshadows that will work well with All That Glitters. To be honest though, when I go over my collection of eyeshadows, I can hardly come up with any that would be a definite no-no to pair with All That Glitters. On my NC30 warm-toned skin, it’s shimmery, pinky, and slightly coppery.

To help you guys a bit more however, I pulled out two other shades that I thought would be similar to All That Glitters, namely Sin from the Naked Palette and the eyelid shade on the left column of Wet n’ Wild Comfort Zone.

In pan they look similar enough, but on swatches you can tell they are quite different from each other.

As you can see, Sin is a lot frostier than All That Glitters, and it is also almost “whiter” because of the frostiness. The eyelid shade of Comfort Zone leans more orange than pink especially when you compare it to All That Glitters.

Bottom line: this shade is of great quality and very versatile. It’s not frosty so it doesn’t scream “look at me,” but whether you pair it with a bold or subdued crease shade I’m sure it’ll do well. If you’re building up a starter kit, you might want to look into it. If you’ve already I do encourage you to swatch it before purchasing though, since this is a shade that looks WILDLY different on people with different skin tone and undertone. I can barely recognize it on a lot of swatch pictures I found online, so don’t rely entirely on them! The same goes to finding a dupe. You have to first know how this shade looks on you before you can embark on the dupe-finding mission.

That’s it, folks. Keep it real and have a nice week!

One response

  1. Pingback: Is there Really a MAC Satin Taupe Dupe in the NYX Rock and Roll Trio? | MOSTLY SUNNY

Leave a Reply

