Swatch & Review: Urban Decay Mildew Eyeshadow and Comparison with Urban Decay Mildew 24/7 Glide-on Eye Pencil

Besides purple, green is the other of my favorite color. I love green eye makeup, clothes, accessories, and just about everything! I used to think that green wouldn’t work on me until I figured out about warm/cold undertones, and the fact that whatever your skintone/undertone, there is a good green for you. Don’t feel intimidated just because it’s a “color color” (again, I call this “color color” because according to one of my best friends M, neutral colors are “non colors”)!

Since Urban Decay is known for their alternative color options, I looked into the green eyeshadows they have and started drooling all over Mildew instantly. It didn’t disappoint me when I finally laid my hands on it either!

Mildew is a mid-tone olive green with a bronzy, almost golden sheen. It has great pigmentation, texture, blendability, and no issue with fallout. I think this will work particularly well on those with warm undertone, medium and darker skintones, and brown eyes. I am a real sucker for jewel-toned eyeshadows, so despite the fact that I don’t use it often enough, I go “awww” when I pull it out of my stash. If you want to play up the “greenness factor”, you can easily pair it with for example MAC Sumptuous Olive. However, if you want to go neutral, it totally rocks with bronzy, golden shades. It’s also a good candidate when you think about a smokey eye! Please pardon the swatch picture I did indoor. The light wasn’t ideal that day, and it doesn’t do the shadow justice.

Since I also own Mildew the 24/7 Glide-on Pencil, I took a comparison photo of the two in bright natural light for you guys the other day. This picture is a much better witness of Mildew’s charm.

As you can see, the eyeshadow is more olive green while the liner forest green. They are basically two very different green shades by the same name! Strange as it is, I actually think the glide-on pencil in Stash would be a better match of the Mildew eyeshadow (at least on me. Again, I have seen this looking wildly different on different people in different light).

So what do you think? Are you a fellow fan of green who already owns this baby, or are you toying with the idea of purchasing this unique eyeshadow? Leave a comment to tell your tale!

Leave a Reply

