Review: Hair Care HG! Kerastase Masquintense for Thick Hair

I’ve had long hair for almost 10 years now. I have layers and everything, but when I put all my hair to my back it goes about halfway down. Despite the fact that my scalp leans oily, my hair could be pretty dry. Also, being Asian, my hair is naturally thicker, which means if I don’t moisturize it right it could become very coarse and frizzy. Several years back, my hairdresser (whom I’ve been going to for 5 years now. He’s SO good that I’ve never looked elsewhere) recommended Kerastase Masquintense for Thick Hair, and my search for a perfect deep hair treatment ended there.

The texture of this product is pretty thick. I am personally not a big fan of the smell (it just reminds me of some old-school soap), but for what it does to my hair I’ll put up with it. Again, being a high-end product, it is highly effective and only the smallest amount is needed. If you overdo it, you risk weighing your hair down, so less is definitely more in this case! After shampooing and squeezing extra water out of my hair, I rub this in by small section while carefully separating any hair that is tangled up, tie my hair up, and then proceed to taking my shower. After I am done with everything else, I first rub a bit of water into my hair, combing through it with my fingers as I go before rinsing it out. I read years ago somewhere that this step emulsifies the conditioner and makes it more effective. I don’t know if that’s true, but it has become a part of my routine. The Kerastase website tells you to massage through from roots to ends, but I prefer not to put any conditioner on my roots because my scalp does lean oily.

The result? Silky smooth hair! I supposed all the proteins, lipids, and glucose this treatment claims to contain really do their job! I had a digital perm (this apparently works really well for Asian hair. In the US you can get it done at Korean hairdressers’ but not really anywhere else) when I went home this July. I’ve had to use a diffuser ever since, which means when I blow dry my hair the ends have it the hardest. However, I’m happy to report with all that blow-drying, styling products, and harsh weather, I still have no split ends! Of course my hair is drier than before it was chemically-treated, but it’s still nice and smooth.

A word of caution though: I would treat this product as the last resort. If you can find anything else that works for you, there is no need to reach out for this because it is extremely rich and expensive. Also, if your hair is severely damaged and very very dry, you can probably use it every time you shampoo your hair. However, once you see some improvement, you can reduce the frequency. Using this more frequently than you need to could weigh your hair down. I personally don’t have issues with build-up, but it could diminish the volume of your hair.

Is anyone in desperate need of a good deep treatment? Does this look interesting to you? Has anyone else tried and wants to share their experience?

Leave a Reply

