My Miss Dior Story & Win Your Own Spring Romance (50ml Bottle of Miss Dior Eau Fraîche, 71 Euros in Value))!

Dior Miss Dior and I, we go way back (note: Dior recently changed the name back to Miss Dior, instead of the previous version of Miss Dior Chérie). I am not going to pretend this is a perfume “review,” because my nose really is not good enough to detect all the different notes in a perfume. The only things I can tell about a perfume is a) whether I like it and b) whether it smells like “me” or it makes me smell like someone else. Therefore, I am just going to tell you how the story started, and at the end one lucky reader will get the chance to win a bottle of the latest addition to the Miss Dior family, Miss Dior Eau Fraîche.

I met Miss Dior Eau de Parfum in a duty-free shop in 2009. I instantly fell in love and bought a bottle. It’s sweet, clean-smelling yet sexy. Despite the fact that I dislike jasmine as a principle and I do detect a hint of it, it is not artificial at all and is well-blended and presented in this perfume. It is sweet enough to be pleasant yet possesses an edge that makes you feel smart and sharp. I am not usually a big fan of bows, but I like the elegant bottle and the pattern on the bottom.

This is me around the time I got the bottle of Miss Dior Eau de Parfum (after my first year in Belgium), the empty bottle you see in the picture.

After I finished the bottle about a year later, I still loved it a lot but felt like experimenting with something new. I held on to the empty bottle because I loved it so much (it even survived my move last year), but for a while I was wearing Givenchy Very Irresistible Sensual Eau de Parfum. That’s around the time I met Dr. D.

We met in Dutch class. Apparently the first time I walked in the classroom (20 minutes late, all fussy and annoyed. Have I talked about my punctuality problem here yet?) I caught his attention. It took him two weeks to gather enough courage to talk to me, but he had me at hello. We started going to classical music concerts, Christmas market, and took up a dance lesson together. It stayed very tentative for a while. When he presented me with the first present, I couldn’t believe it was a bottle of Miss Dior Eau de Toilette. He had no idea I owned the EDP before meeting him, but he was sniffing different perfumes and really liked this one. That’s the half-empty bottle you see in the middle.

This is me around the time we met.

Perhaps that’s why I have always associated Miss Dior with spring romance. I was 26, and life had almost never looked brighter. I was learning new things, surrounded by dear friends, and finding love.

It’s been a year and a half since we first met, and life has taken many twists and turns. The bottle of Eau de Toilette remains the last part of my morning routine, and Dr. D remains the person I want to go home to at the end of each day, be it exciting or dreary.

Now I have dragged you through my little story (I hope I didn’t bore you), here is the Belgian part of my giveaway (fear not, international ladies, because the international giveaway is coming up in a few hours)! You could win a 50ml bottle of the latest addition to the Miss Dior family, namely Miss Dior Eau Fraîche (it retails for around 71 euros)! I have smelled it, and it starts out being very fresh and citrus-y, but dries down to a very feminine scent of gardenia and patchouli. It would be a perfect scent for the season!

To participate in the giveaway, you must:

1. Have a Belgian address.

(Please right click and open link in new tab so that you don’t get navigated away from this page)

2. Follow me with Bloglovin’ or via E-mail (you can find the button on the right). Like this post if you choose to follow via Bloglovin’.

3. Leave a comment here with your e-mail address.

That’s really it, but for bonus entries, you can:

1. Like Mostly Sunny on Facebook. Please leave your Facebook name in the comment.

2. Follow Mostly Sunny on Twitter and tweet about the giveaway. Please leave your Twitter name and the link to the tweet in the comment.

The giveaway runs till 12AM of May 6th. The winner will be randomly selected (with Random.org) and notified by e-mail. Please write me back within 48 hours, otherwise I will have to pick another winner.

That’s it! Good luck everyone! Keep your eyes peeled for the international giveaway that’s coming up in a few hours!

Sunny, your beauty culture translator xx

Disclosure: the giveaway prize is kindly sponsored by Dior.

30 responses

  1. what an amazing giveaway 🙂 i’ve followed you on bloglovin, liked you on facebook (Mélanie Staes) & twittered as well!
    i hope i’ll win 🙂
    ps amazing blog, i love your posts!

  2. Yay! I follow this blog via Bloglovin and I liked the FB page for Mostly Sunny.
    My email adress is: (leave all of the “-” out, I did this to avoid spam)
    m-a-r-g-o-t-.-t-h-y-b-a-u-t (at) gmail (dot) com

    Great give away! 🙂

  3. How could it even be possible for a love story to be boring? 😀
    Those 1st memories are the best & remain forever…
    Anyway, I think this is the 1st giveaway contest I enter 🙂
    Very curious about the smell! Have to admit, I never sniffled @ the eau fraîche bottle 🙂
    Maybe I should check it out in store somewhere? 😀

    PS: HBD!!! In Ghent the sun is shining @ the moment,so hope it will all day 🙂 X

  4. I was about to buy this but was thinking I should wait until I’m at the airport. I would be so happy with this perfume.
    The story didn’t bore me at all! I have different memories with different smells and love it when I smell a scent and all those memories come fluttering over. I guess this is the story that comes with this scent for you.

    Lippylash@hotmail.com

    I’m tweeting about it!

  5. wow what a sweet lovestory ! It’s crazy how he got that EXACT fragrance for you, only an indication that it really is “you” no ? For the moment I’m still figuring out what my signature scent should be, it’s really not that easy ;( Mostly because I don’t want to wear something that is so mainstream that you smell it everywhere ( black xs,amor amor someone?) So for the sake of my quest ( and my growing perfume stash) I’m definately entering !

    like I said previously, I follow you everywhere, my e-mail is caramelboots{at}hotmail{dot}com.

    Bisous!

  6. Awesome choice!!!

    I only recently found you and follow on bloglovin’ (not very tech savy with the rest).
    It was great to find a fellow blogger who lives in Belgium **giggles**. I have also started a blog recently (fairly new). If you would like to visit you are more than welcome: undraasmind.blogspot.com.

    Last but not least, is that Miss Dior Cherie was the first perfume that I bought when I received my first pay and had some romantic adventure to that effect :). Like you have mentioned previously, I kept the bottle for over 2 years, could not part with it cause it looked soo sophisticated and chic and scent of the perfume still remained within the bottle.

    Currently, I am using Chanel Eau Tendre (very fresh) but Miss Dior “Cherie” will always stay as my all time favourite!

    My email is undraasmind@gmail.com.

    Good luck with the giveaway! 🙂

  7. Pingback: Shine Brighter Than the Star with Guerlain Shine Automatique! Sous Le Vent, Extrait de Rose, À La Parisienne, & Rose Pompon Swatch, Review, FOTDs | MOSTLY SUNNY

  8. Pingback: Brussels PR Day: New from Bumble and Bumble, Deborah Lippmann, Bobbi Brown, Tom Ford, & More! | MOSTLY SUNNY

    • Thanks Michelle! You should take a look at the Miss Dior range. I have owned or tried virtually everything in the range and nothing is a disappointment for me 🙂

  9. What a fantastic constest ! Every perfume has his owns memories. That’s why i have a lot of different perfumes, just because every fragrances has a memory that I can’t ignore or forget. That’s why I love all my perfumes one by one. So I hope I caan add this perfume to my list so I can collect a new fragrance – memory.

    I followed you on bloglovin, added my email and i liked you on fb.
    Here is my email: meleke.vm@hotmail.com

    Yours sincerely,

    Mell x

Leave a Reply

