MAX Factor Flipstick Colour Effect Are Coming to Town! Part 2: 30 Gypsy Red, 40 Melody Brown, & Haul!

Hey everyone!

Happy Sunday! I hope you have been enjoying your weekend so far! Did you do anything exciting? I’ve been spending some time with friends this weekend, and it’s fantastic!

Today we’re going to continue on the MAX Factor Flipsticks (in case you missed the first part, it’s here). I am also including an overview and conclusion, so check it out!

The darker end of Gypsy Red (30) is an orangey coral with glitter, and the lighter one is a frosty coppery gold. To be honest I think the color combination is fabulous, but the glitter is pretty rough. Also, it might be just me (I’ve seen it on other bloggers and I didn’t have the same impression), but the darker end goes on rather patchy. It seems difficult to smooth it out, and it does emphasize my lip lines. The funny thing is that when the lipstick wears off a bit with eating and drinking, it actually looks a lot better. The patchiness disappears, and my lips look a lot smoother than when they did when I first applied the color. It wears at least 5 hours on me, and it does leave a stain.

If you want something that lasts, Gypsy Red does deliver, and the colors are just made to go with each other. I really wish it didn’t contain glitter, or the glitter would be less rough, because orangey coral and coppery gold looks so awesome together! To give Gypsy Red more credit, even after 5 hours it doesn’t dry my lips out. I was again pleasantly surprised!

I know that gold is more typically holiday season, but paired with coral instead of red, it makes a fun summer combo as well!

Melody Brown (40) is the Flipstick that I don’t really get. The darker side is an extremely frosty warm-toned brown, and the light side is a frosty warm pink. See why I don’t really get it now? Both sides are frosty. Brown is normally not a color I can wear, but I would not hold it against Melody Brown just for that. It is really more because BOTH sides are frosty. I think the lack of contrast in finishes is a pity, because it would be more interesting otherwise.

Because of the frosty nature, both sides seem to emphasize lip lines. It also doesn’t wear as well as the others. There is no staining (just some shimmer that’s left behind) after some tea and light snacking, and without food I’d give it 2-3 hours.

I ended up wearing the pink end all over my lips and the brown in the middle.

Here is the swatch of Gypsy Red and Melody Brown:

Bottom line & Overview: I think the idea behind Flipsticks is very interesting, and you can play with them in many different ways. Out of the five, I would recommend Boreal Mauve and Salsa Red, because the matte ends have great lasting power. Also the contrast between the matte and shimmery/frosty finishes makes them fun. Gypsy Red has a great color combination, I just personally wish it contained no glitter or at least glitter that doesn’t feel rough. Melody Brown is not really something that could work on its own, unless you are into the frosty look. I think both ends have layering potential, but all over my lips it’s a bit of a frost overdose. Bloomy Pink is also a good one. The dark side does have a sheen, but it is not frosty!

Oh and my Friends & Family sale haul! I managed to stick to my wish list, which makes me think I deserve a pat on the head! You can get a sneak peek here:

This is probably my 5th bottle of Clinique Take the Day off. It remains my go-to for waterproof mascara and liquid eyeliner, though if I’m not wearing either I stick to Bioderma Sensibio nowadays. For the rest, you will see swatches/reviews here, some sooner than others (will take me some time to test the brush and lash serum out properly)!

Now you have seen them all, where do you stand on these Flipsticks? Do you do any layering with your lip products?

Sunny, your beauty culture translator xx

MAX Factor Flipstick Colour Effect will be available from July 1st at the recommended retail price of 12,49 euros.

Disclosure: The products mentioned in this review are sent by the PR for my consideration. All opinions are honest and my own. I am in no way compensated for this review. I have always been, and will always be committed ONLY to my readers.

6 responses

    • Hey Linde, thank you! There are colors I can’t pull off (haven’t found anything brown that works on me), but I’m sure there is SOMETHING in almost every color family that will work on everyone. You just have to keep experimenting! xx

Leave a Reply

