Get Berry-Stained Lips with Giorgio Armani Rouge d’Armani #408!

(Can you see how upset Tango was? No animal was harmed in the process, but he did give me a warning bite)

It’s official! For the rest of my life the year, I see myself sporting looks along this line: minimal eyeshadow, a lot of eyeliner, and an eye-catching lipstick: like Giorgio Armani Rouge d’Armani #408 from the fall collection!

Back at the time this lipstick started popping up in the blogosphere, I hadn’t been properly converted to lipstickism (yes, it is a new religion) at all. Sure it looks great, but I didn’t feel the need to own it until I saw a Twitpic of Larie recently. The rest, as they say, is history.

Rouge d’Armani comes in a sleek oval tube, with a horizontal oval at the bottom and vertical one as cap. There is a magnet on the cap. If you’re into the “satisfying click” of luxury lipsticks, Rouge d’Armani for sure has that part covered! With the magnet, it makes the loudest click I’ve ever heard! I also love the logo. It’s one of the details I like the most about my Gloss d’Armani 401.

There is another logo engraved on the bullet, and I find the tip easy to maneuver. It’s shaped in a way that allows you to reach all the little corners. It has no smell whatsoever, which is somehow surprising. If you dislike lipsticks with a scent, take this line into consideration!

Rouge d’Armani #408 is a darkened raspberry red with tiny ruby shimmer and a satin sheen. The shimmer is really tiny, and it can almost pass as matte. It reminds me of berry or wine stain, so it’s not full-on vampy but for me it’s another step ahead!

It swatches somehow sheer, but don’t be fooled as one pass delivers fully opaque color on the lips. It glides on easily, the formula is extremely lightweight, and the lasting power is no joke! I was able to get 7 hours out of this (food and drinks included), and it does leave a stain. It doesn’t migrate out of my lip lines at all when I eat, though when it fades it tends to start from the inside. It doesn’t go as far as to leaving an awkward rim on the edge, but if you look closely you’ll see the edge is darker. It doesn’t accentuate lip lines or dry patches, and it is somehow hydrating. The fact that it can be easily removed with Bioderma Sensibio (or basically any makeup remover of your choice) definitely wins it a bonus point in my book!

“Are you done or what?”

Bottom line: Fabulous color, great formula, and chic packaging, Rouge d’Armani #408 has it all! It’s definitely a shade that stands out and demands attention, and it is more than appropriate for the colder months. Keep in mind that it is limited edition, so if you’re interested you might want to act fast!

Have you tried Rouge d’Armani? What is your favorite berry/wine-stained lipstick?

Sunny, your beauty culture translator xx

PS: Just in case you live in Europe and have problems finding it, I got mine from Parfuma.

PPS: I paid for my own lipstick and that is not an affiliated link. Just trying to be helpful!

44 responses

  1. Hi Sunny,
    It looks quite different when swatched on your arm and on your lip. I definitely like how it looks on your lip better. I’ve tried rouge d’Armani and I’m in love with the texture πŸ™‚ Pigmented and very moisturizing.

    • Thanks girly! I think it’s the slight transparency it has when it is swatched? I wouldn’t mind it being another bit darker, though the shade is fantastic as it is!

  2. Love it, no surprise here, I love all the reds πŸ˜€ I have Rouge d’Armani 400 and absolutely adore this colour. They last super long as well. You look amazing in red Sunny ❀ I like your top/blouse btw.

  3. haha, that little monkey! That lipstick is gorgeous on you – I think I might need to investigate the world of Armani lipsticks! I *do* have a gift voucher to use up after all…

    • Haha thanks Cami! You do that! I also have a coupon burning a hole in my wallet. I just can’t decide what to spend it on (because there are TOO MANY things I want)!

    • Thanks so much Joyce! The thing is I heard there are different textures and so on in this line, and the TF one I have also has a very special finish (it’s really matte, but I looked around and it seems like a rare finish in the line). If you want me to compare this specific shade with Guerlain Rouge G, I’d say it’s less creamy and moisturizing. However, it is definitely more lightweight. They’re both great formulas though, and it will really depend on if a shade catches your eye πŸ™‚

      • Great! Thanks for your perspective on it! The Rouge G’s do seem quite moisturizing, so perhaps nothing can beat that! πŸ™‚

  4. That slight hint of raspberry makes all the difference in transforming this red. It’s BEAUTIFUL on you Sunny! Your pictures actually make me REALLY want this lipstick because I am just imagining that I will look exactly like you when I wear it πŸ˜› Won’t happen, but a girl can wish…

  5. Pingback: Benefit Birthday Suit & Skinny Jeans Deliver the Creaseless Cream Shadow/Liner Promise! | MOSTLY SUNNY

  6. Pingback: MOSTLY SUNNY | Benefit Birthday Suit & Skinny Jeans Deliver the Creaseless Cream Shadow/Liner Promise!

Leave a Reply

