Swatch: All 8 Shades of L’Oreal Infallible Eyeshadows & Name Comparisons

Hello everyone!

How are you doing? More than half of the working week has gone by, and I hope you’re still hanging in there!

Today I did one of the weirdest things I have ever done in public, and I did it for my dear readers! I went to a drugstore and swatched all 8 L’Oreal Infallible Eyeshadows that are available in Belgium, just so that you can see if anything interests you! I do have to warn you these get confusing though. The names, availability, and even numbers vary from country to country. I did some research and comparison to be able to tell you what a certain shade might be called in the US (Canada, the UK, and other European countries I checked use the same names), but if the information is not accurate please forgive me! I would also really appreciate it if you could let me know in the comments below!

The 8 colors available in Belgium are Hourglass Beige, Forever Pink, Purple Obsession, All Night Blue, Unlimited Sky, Permanent Kaki, Endless Chocolat, and Eternal Black. To see all the swatches please read on!

Here are the swatch pictures of Hourglass Beige, Forever Pink, Purple Obsession, and All Night Blue:

Hourglass Beige is an icy metallic beige. It is not the most pigmented shade of the range, and I needed to build it up a little to get it to look the way it does in photos. In person you see a bit more yellow in it, more or less along the line of MAC Ricepaper for example. I believe this shade is called Iced Latte in the US.

Forever Pink is a peachy pink with a golden sheen. I checked the US website but didn’t see anything that could be it, so I am led to believe that it is left out of the US launch. It reminds me of Sin in the Naked Palette, though most probably pinker. Like Hourglass Beige, this shade is not as insanely pigmented as the rest of them.

Purple Obsession is a gorgeous royal purple! I personally think it is a very interesting purple because it doesn’t lean too warm or cool. Therefore, it should work for many different skin tones/undertones. In the US it is called Perpetual Purple.

All Night Blue is a rich, dark sapphire blue. Again, I don’t have the impression that it leans too cool like most blues do, so it should be flattering on many ladies! In the US this shade is renamed Midnight Blue.

Here are the swatch pictures of Unlimited Sky, Permanent Kaki, Endless Chocolat, and Eternal Black:

Unlimited Sky is an icy light blue. It is called Infinite Sky in the US.

Permanent Kaki is a lovely mid-tone olive green with a golden sheen. It reminds me of Urban Decay Mildew, though perhaps slightly lighter. In the US it is known as Golden Sage.

Endless Chocolat is a rich chocolate brown. It is pretty neutral so it should look fantastic on a lot of people! This shade is renamed as Continuous Cocoa in the US.

Eternal Black is a black with silvery sparkle/glitter. It is the only shade that has kept its name in the US out of the whole bunch!

Here are the 8 of them together!

I don’t own any of these (yet) so I can’t review them in detail. However, my general experience is pretty positive. Except for Hourglass Beige and Forever Pink, all the shades are extremely pigmented, soft, and smooth. The texture is really a mix between cream, mousse, and powder. I didn’t have any issues with fallout, though when I pressed my fingers in the testers a bit too hard a couple of times, I ended up having to smooth them over more carefully. I have heard that these are good dupes for Armani Eyes to Kill. I don’t own any of those either, though from the swatch pictures I have seen I think they have a bit more depth and complexity compared with Infallible Eyeshadows. Nevertheless, I do wish to say that most of the shades don’t read too warm or cool for me, which make would them appealing/flattering across different skin tones/undertones. I did hear that they could be a bit hard to blend, but apparently they have amazing lasting powder so that’s probably a trade-off.

So there I was frantically snapping pictures of my hand in a drugstore, and after I was done with that I walked to the nearest bench I could find and repeated the same task. I must have looked ridiculous with so many different colors all the way up my arm, but hey, that’s all about sharing the information I have access to! Afterwards, I wiped as much as I could off with a tissue, but the darker colors refused to completely go away. I walked to my favorite cafe (which fortunately isn’t far from the drugstore), ordered my latte before rushing into the restroom and washing all the crazy stripes of colors off. Phew, that was better!

How about you? Have you seen these where you live? Would you like to try any after seeing the swatches? Have you done anything that might look ridiculous to the world while you have a perfectly good reason? Do share! Also, if you like the swatches please follow me with Bloglovin, leave a comment, or simply click “like” on the post. Your support is the driving force behind this blog!

I already have a million ideas about what I am going to write next, but until then, keep it real and stick around folks!

Sunny xx

22 responses

  1. Oh lol, so funny you walked around there with those swatches on your arm! I do ths myself all the time, mostly with lipsticks, and it really looks weird and red/pink after a while, so it looks like I have some weird skin disease! I dont want to know what people think of me, haha. I really love the deep blue colour you swatched, its really calling to me, and I dont really have any blue in my collection yet. Thanks a lot for these great swatches!

    • Ah well, it wasn’t even a 30-second walk between the drugstore and the bench, and probably a minute and a half after that I was in the cafe so it wasn’t so bad. The problem is I don’t live in a big city, so I was a bit worried I’d run into someone I know and have to explain it all lol

      The deep blue IS amazing! I tend to avoid blue because I thought it’d be too cool for me, but I didn’t have that impression while swatching All Night Blue. If you do get it though I’d LOVE to see your FOTD/EOTD!

  2. hi Sunny! 🙂

    it’s lena from lenallure. ^-^
    thanks for visiting my blog and entering my giveaway as well.

    it is interesting l’oreal has released different shades (or similar shades with different names!) in different places.
    i haven’t seen the pink one in the u.s.
    thanks so much for the swatches.

    i am following you on bloglovin’
    see you soon! 🙂

    • Hey Lena! Thanks for dropping by! I really like your blog so it’s a pleasure 🙂

      I find it weird that L’Oreal not only made certain shades available in certain countries but even the names/numbers are different. Oh well, maybe it’s part of their marketing strategy. There are definitely some to-die-for shades that are not available in Belgium (so frustrating)!

      I’ll definitely be seeing you around 🙂

  3. Wow! I wouldn’t do that, I m very shy sometimes!
    They look great! I haven’t try them, I have only ”see” them. (actually I was with a friend and she said ”Don’t you dare buy any more cosmetics.. Come here, come here”), so….

    • Hahaha. Oh well, there are things I wouldn’t do for myself that I would do for others, and walking around with colors all the way up my arm is one of those! Your friend is so sensible lol. But hey, just swatching doesn’t mean you’ll buy anything. You should tell her that 🙂

    • Dank je wel Nathalie! I checked the Dutch website out when I was doing my research/comparisons, but it doesn’t look like you guys have all the colors (which is weird)!

      Psst I checked your site out too and I love it! I read some Dutch, so I am following you on Bloglovin’ now 🙂

  4. Pingback: Are These Really Infallible? L’Oreal Infallible Eyeshadows in Purple Obsession (Perpetual Purple) & Emerald Lame Swatch, Review, FOTD | MOSTLY SUNNY

  5. I have Infinite Sky and Eternal Black and they are beautiful! It’s so cool that you have testers in store in Belgium for these. I’ve never seen testers for shadows in the US!

  6. Sunny, do you know if these eyeshadows blend and/or layer well with powder eyeshadows? I have my eye on a particular shade, but it would have to be compatible with my stash. I really don’t need to be bringing more than one home with me. 🙂

    I wonder if these party well with regular cream eyeshadows too (not that I own any).

Leave a comment