Before You Pop that Painkiller, Try the Escents Aromatherapy Roll-Ons!

I don’t know if you have noticed, but there are definitely cultural differences involved in figuring out when would be the time to resort to pain killers. I’ve seen people who are really crippled by pain but wouldn’t take a painkiller, but I’ve also seen people who would pop a couple at the onset of any discomfort. I’m not here to judge or tell you when it would be appropriate, but before you run to your medicine cabinet, why not try natural remedies that might help? I’m sharing my favorite Headache Relief and Feminine Cycles roll-ons from Escents with you!

(The usual disclaimer applies. I am not a medical professional, and these roll-ons do not aim to treat/cure any diseases. If your condition is serious and chronic, please seek professional help.)

Headache Relief is made with peppermint and lavender essential oils, though the peppermint is a lot stronger (my bestie has sniffed the lavender on me once, which really surprised me so I guess it’s different for different people). The directions tell you to apply this along the hairline and neck, but I find applying on my temples and even under my nose. I use it not only when I get a headache (it happens very often when the weather changes drastically or when I skip my morning coffee) but also when I feel carsick or a heatstroke coming. I have also used this on bug bites and it reduces the itch as well. It is something that I have carried in my makeup bag at ALL times for several years now!

Feminine Cycles is made with clary sage and geranium, and it is supposed to help with the discomfort most of us have experienced during that time of the month (though the original claim targets symptoms associated with PMS). I am not 100% sure how clary sage smells, so this is very much geranium to me. Geranium is such an acquired taste (smell?). When I first sniffed it I was so surprised that I was a little put-off, but I really wanted to see if it works so I bought it anyways. A while later I got a bit hooked on the scent of geranium! You are supposed to apply this to your abdomen, lower back, and wrists. In the beginning I was very skeptical about something like this working, but I have been completely converted. Of course when it gets bad I’ll still reach for a pain killer, but most of the time if I get to lie down for a bit with this rubbed on, I feel much better.

Once you screw the caps off this is what you see:

Just roll it on with the beads and massage a bit to see how it works!

Again, I am not a medical professional and if your condition is serious you shouldn’t rely on these alone. For me personally they really help, and that’s why I have been repurchasing a couple of times during the past several years. They last quite long (I don’t even finish one per year), and you can even find a refill version (30ml. A roll-on contains 9) for Headache Relief. I can’t promise if it is just the placebo effect, but hey, as long as it works right? This line also has something that helps relieve stress, sleep, and unblock a stuffy nose.

Bottom line: If you are interested in aromatherapy, definitely take a look at these. They’re easy to carry, last a long time, and works very well for me!

Have you tried anything similar? Do you have any interest/faith in aromatherapy or do you think it’s bunk science?

Sunny, your beauty culture translator xx

20 responses

  1. I’m not really familiar with aromatherapy, though these sounds kind of nice. I’m not the type of person that easily runs to the medicine cabinet, I usually just lie down and wait it out or go to bed.

    • Yeah that’s a strategy too 🙂 I’d take a pain killer if I want to carry on with my life, but when I’m allowed the luxury I also just lie down and wait for it to go away!

  2. I haven’t tried these before, but I’m Chinese and my mom gave me this bottle of oil (kui fung yau) to sniff and to rub on my temples whenever I got a headache and it did help a little bit. I get migraines all the time during that time of the month and I usually resort to pain killers. I’m going to pick up the peppermint one and try it for my headaches. Thanx for letting us know about these. =)

    • Oh yeah I know what you’re talking about! Those usually smell a bit too sharp for me though. This Headache Relief one is refreshing but doesn’t sting if you know what I mean. Hope it’ll work for you too! Keep me posted!

  3. I’ve been thinking about trying something like this because lately I get such horrible headaches or migraines probably and no amount of med seems to really help. It’s been so stormy here this summer and every time the pressure drops BOOM-headache. I will have to look around here and see if I can find something!

    • Aww I’m so sorry to hear about that, Tracy! Escents is a Canadian brand so you should have easy access to their products. Let me know if you give Headache Relief a try!

  4. Thanks for reviewing these; I’ve been intrigued ever since you posted your haul. I’m not sure if I can find the exact same ones here in the US, but I’m sure there are some that are similar, I’ll have to look! I love aromatherapy already so these are right up my alley.

  5. I’ve tried a kind of this this! In hong kong my mom have ever bought a lavendel at least I think it was lavendel because the packaging is purple and there where flowers on it. and it was for a cold or headacheI think? It works fine only a little bit too oily >.<.

Leave a comment