Swatch & Review: MAC Humid (Frost)

Humid, oh Humid, though I don’t use you often enough, you remain one of my most priced possessions. Whenever I see you my heart melts a little, and my mood brightens!

MAC Humid is described to be an “intense green with shimmer” by the MAC website. To me however, it’s a deep forest green with a beautiful golden sheen. While it is slightly shimmery, the shimmer is rather subtle. Also, don’t cringe just because MAC categorizes this as “frost.” I think it’s a bit misleading because it is by no means a frosty eyeshadow. The pigmentation and texture are up there with MAC’s best eyeshadows. Please bear in mind that it’s a major compliment when I say it, since some MAC shadows do fall short for me.

Both Christine from Temptalia (7 Ways to Wear Humid Eyeshadow) and Karen from Makeupandbeautyblog (MAC Unsung Heroes: Humid Eyeshadow) have shared how you can take advantage of this fantastic shade. If you want to give this beauty the love it deserves, I suggest you check those posts out!

I have personally used it in two ways. First: I have used it to smudge out the liner on my lower lash line when I wear Sumptuous Olive on my lid. It’s such a vibrant green and it really pops! You can definitely do it when you wear warm neutrals as well, since the golden sheen will play well with that. Second, I have used a bit of black base (I use Urban Decay Zero) on my lid, blended it out with my finger (so that you can barely see the black when your eyes are open), and added a bit more to my lash line. I then pat Humid on before blending a neutral shade in my crease. You can go natural by using a matte shade (like Buck from the Naked Palette), or play up the gold by using for example Smog. It’s barely a smokey eye, but it is an interesting way of wearing a bit more color without being “in-your-face.”

Do you have Humid? Do you want it? How would you wear it? Please share!

Leave a Reply

