Swatch & Review: Why Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner is a Monolidded Girl’s Best Friend!

One more thing we can learn about Marilyn Monroe when she sang: “Diamonds are a girl’s best friend” is this: she was definitely not monolidded! Because if she were, she would claim gel eyeliner to be her best friend instead!

Let’s turn the clock back to the end of 2010. My best friend HM is a Korean soap opera buff. The hours and hours she spent on watching these soap operas did not go down the drain in a mindless I-am-just-looking-for-a-way-to-kill-time way either. She always has my best interests at heart. From her observation, I have similar eye shape with many Korean actresses, and they all sport killer eye looks that feature some nifty eyeliner work. “Look, maybe you should try this,” she showed me some photos. “I think it’ll work well for your monolids.” If you don’t know what monolids are, think about the most stereotypical Asian eyes you can think of. Are you envisioning almond-shaped eyes that go up at the outer corners? Yup, that’s my eyes, and the lack of a prominent crease is what we call monolid. Having monolids is part of the reason why I had almost never wanted to try lining my eyes until that point. Whatever I tried to line my eyes with would smudge and migrate all over the place, making me look like a panda. However, after some more nudging from HM and methodological research I did on the Internet, I decided to give gel liners a try. Since the most easily available drugstore gel liner I could find is Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner, that was what came home with me. Even with the little brush it came with, I could feel a whole new page of my life starting. The rest, as they say, is failed eyelining history.

Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner comes in a small glass pot. The metal (tin?) lid doesn’t make it look or feel expensive, but for the good stuff that’s in it I am willing to compromise. The gel is an extremely opaque, rich black that will give you a very defining line with minimum effort. I barely dipped the tip of my index finger in the pot for the swatch picture, but you can already see how much va-va-voom it delivers! It is soft, smooth, and it lasts all day! I have tested it out in all kinds of conditions and long hours, but it has not smudged on me even once. Even when all else fails, my eyeliner will still be there for me. The best part? I wear makeup once or twice a week, so I have been using this pot for about 15 months now. I would say probably around half of it is gone, but guess what? It has not dried out yet! Not even close!

I use this with my Bobbi Brown Ultra Fine Liner Brush (reviewed here). Normally I do a very thin line that is not visible when I open my eyes for the inner half, but draw the line straight out and connect it to the corners of my eyes for the outer half. I also smudge it into my waterline for some extra definition. Lining my eyes like this has really brought them out and made about the biggest difference in my eye makeup, and it is always possible to bring more drama if I wing it out!

I guess I have some very good reasons to call gel liner a monolidded girl’s best friend. But no, I wouldn’t mind some diamonds even if I have found my best friend in Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner now…

What is your favorite gel liner? Have you tried this baby out? Are you interested in giving it a go? Let me know!

Sunny xx

Leave a Reply

